Gospel meets the Lost

October 2, 2010

Late Friday night and Saturday night I ventured back to both Market Square and Cumberland Avenue.

Many Gospel tracts were handed out. I prayed for humbleness and boldness as I open-air preached.(In the tradition of John the Baptist, Jesus, the Disciples, John Wesley, George Whitefield, C.H. Spurgeon, etc.) I had about three unique encounters when I O.A.P.(Open air preaching). The first was with a former Catholic. He has been going to different churches in the area and has been reading on his own the Bible. I encouraged him to continue in reading the Word and to always ask God to help him understand what he is reading. I gave him the Calvary Chapel Knoxville business card if he should perchance want check CCK.

The second encounter was with a homeless man. He was asking what I was reading. I was reading Isaiah 53, the passage of the suffering servant, Jesus. He opened up his backpack pulled out his Bible and started reading the passage. I explained to him how the passage was referring to Jesus.(This passage was written over 700 years before the physical birth of Jesus. He asked me to pray for him over certain issues in his life. We prayed and parted ways.

The third encounter during an O.A.P. was on Saturday. This was the saddest encounter of the three. A  drunk college age lesbian Aussie, approached me with her other drunk lesbian friends. In her drunkenness and stammering was asking if I honestly thought reading the Bible aloud in the public arena was actually doing any good. It was hard to answer her due to her drunkenness and being dragged away from me by her drunk lesbian cohorts.  I could only reply I was obeying what God tells me in His Word.  She said I was not doing what the Bible was saying. It is hard to reason with a drunk person, so the conversation could not go further and she walked away in her lost state. I did say a quick prayer for her that she would remember this encounter after she sobers up and seeks the Lord soon.

Open air preaching is something that cannot be done in flesh but only by the Spirit of God(Zechariah 4:6). The lost may never enter a church, so the only time they may hear the Word of God is thru open air preaching. Proclaiming the Word of God never comes back void.

Isaiah 55:11 (New King James Version)

11 So shall My word be that goes forth from My mouth;
It shall not return to Me void,
But it shall accomplish what I please,
And it shall prosper in the thing for which I sent it.

I am joyful the Lord has given me a passion to go out to Evangelize and Open Air Preach. The purpose in what I do is to truly Glorify the Lord! In all we do, it should be to give God the glory.

Leave a Reply

