Sept. 25th Evangelism Outing.

September 26, 2010

After the evening traffic from the Sept. 25th Vols. win, I headed down to Cumberland Ave. and started handing out Salvation/Gospel tracts. One incident, I handed a gentleman a Gospel tract and told him, “Jesus loves you.” He became very hateful to me and very loudly said to ears of others nearby, “NO HE DOES NOT!” He wanted to appear macho to his lady friend accompanying him.  So by belittling me, he felt superior. I never take any insult personally when it comes to sharing the faith.

I read I Corinthians 13. The second time I read it, I substituted the word “love” with “Jesus”. Many people cocked their heads as I read this passage. Many are used to hearing the “Hell” and “Judgment” passages it took them off guard I would be reading this passage. I do read passages mentioning “Hell” and Judgment”. If it is in the Bible, it gets read. Paul stated to his readers, “Have I not shunned to declare to you the WHOLE COUNSEL of GOD?”(Acts 20:27).

I could also tell from the evening, I was getting some much-needed help from the Holy Spirit and the prayers of  believers. Evangelism is fun, exciting, and hard labor. So, I always ask the Lord for help in any way possible to carry out what he has gifted me.

On a positive note, I was able to share my faith with one of the security guys at a local fast food restaurant on the Cumberland Strip. During home games, extra security is hired at the fast food joints to help with any potential drunk or rowdy fans from both teams.

I always end in prayer after an evangelism outing. This helps me in knowing God has allowed me to share my faith by the power of the Holy Spirit.  I will be thankful for any seed planted in the heart of those reading the tracts. Time is short and I want to see as many people come to repentance and faith in Jesus.  So if I have free time in the afternoons and evenings, I want to obey The Great Commission.

Leave a Reply

