Cumberland Ave. E-night and a God Sent Helper.

September 17, 2010

I pray before going out to do the work of an Evangelist. I prayed especially for a free parking space down on Cumberland. Tomorrow is the UT vs. Florida football game. It was crazy already downtown and the game has not started. I walked up and down Cumberland Ave. and passed out tracts. Read the 3rd chapter of John on a street corner next to Old College Inn.  Then I went back to the spot in front of the Taco Bell facing the bars and a liquor store.  For about 3o minutes I read the Bible.

After thirty minutes, a  gentleman walks up beside me with a couple of tracts and starts passing out tracts as I read the word. When he ran out of tracts he asked if he could help me pass out some of my tract stash. I gladly let him. I introduced myself to him. He and I both share the same name. He is a drifter and just got into Knoxville after a long bike ride from Tazwell. He did receive an earlier ride from South Kentucky to Tazwell by a minister.  When talking to Rob, I received assurance from the Lord, Rob was a believer and a God-sent help to me. We probably passed out about 50 tracts, a Gospel of John, and a pocket New Testament, “The Invitation”.  I gave him one of my tracts with the website to get ahold of me next time he is on the Internet. He told me of a legal matter he had to take care of in the area. I prayed with him about the legal matter and for his safety wherever the Lord guides him and to have that continue boldness of the Holy Spirit in sharing  Jesus. I did not have any money to give him for food or hotel, but I pray that the Lord will me his needs. Thank you Jesus for sending, Rob.

While we were handing out tracts, a group of gang bangers started yelling at us and going by us, “Satan is Lord, Satan is God, etc”  Rob and I shook our heads knowing spiritual attack comes when light shines in the darkness.  Towards the end as I started to read scripture for the last time the noise level on a live band went super loud. Yet the Lord gave me scripture to read and no music was going to drown out the reading of the Bible. At other times when not reading the Bible, I started reading the tracts. If the college crowd was not going to read them, then I will read it to them.

At times when I had one of the million dollar bills in mine hands, I held them up. I figured if the UT scalpers where going to hold their products(tickets) in the air to sell, I was going to hold up my tracts and if someone asked me how much I was charging for a ticket, I would say this ticket is free and hand them a gospel tract.

I left rejoicing for the seeds planted and for the Lord sending Rob to help distribute tracts.

One Response to “Cumberland Ave. E-night and a God Sent Helper.”

  1. robert reyes Says:

    Robert great thanks for sharing God Bless

Leave a Reply

