Gay man and Jesus.

April 12, 2010

As I returned from Monday night Bible study at church, I had a new packet of the Trillion Dollar Bills.(Lincoln on the front.) I pray for open doors. As I went walking up and down the University of Tennessee strip and passing out the bills, I was stopped by a homeless gay man, Jay.(Not his real name.)

Jay pulled me aside from his friends to talk to me after I gave him a gospel tract. He told me of his gay lover overdosing on drugs and died two weeks ago.  Jay was still grieving over the death of his lover. In my heart I prayed for the Holy Spirit to give me the words to say to Jay. Jay told me he was not saved but attends a small Catholic Church. The priest told Jay his lover was in purgatory.

I told Jay purgatory does not exist. I did tell him the story of the Rich man and Lazarus about prior to Jesus where the dead went. Then I told him after Jesus died and arose from the grave things changed. The believers are now with Jesus and the unsaved are still in torment.

Jay asked me to be honest and tell him where his former lover has gone.  I told him the Bible does not teach purgatory, only two places people will go once they die, Heaven and Hell. I told him I could only tell him what the Bible says. I told him I am not God and I am not his judge.  To comfort Jay, I told him in all honesty that if his former lover called out to Jesus before he took his last breath, then God says according to his Word in

Romans 10:13 (New King James Version)

13 For “whoever calls on the name of the LORD shall be saved.”

I told Jay to be comforted by what God has said in His Word and not in what man may say. I told him that he needs to call out to Jesus, repent of you sins and put your faith, you whole dependence and surrendering, to Jesus. I then told him John 3:16,17 For God so loved, Jay, that he gave his one and only Son, Jesus. That if Jay believes on him, Jay will not die but have everlasting life. For God came not to Jay to condemn him but that by him Jay may be saved.

I only tell people what God’s Word says. I dare not stand in the way of a man/woman coming to Jesus. Jay was broken. The Lord sent me to Jay to tell him that Jesus loves him. He kept the bible tract. I prayed for him and  that tonight, Jay will repent of his sins and put his faith in Jesus.

I told him I’m not here to condemn his gay lifestyle. I am here to tell you that Jesus loves you, died for you and wants to be his Savior.

His drunken friends dragged him away from me. As he walked away from me I called out to him that Jesus loves you and to call on Him and God will save you.

I started to pray immediately for him to repent and be saved. I told Jay during our conversation no matter how much he feels like God will never accept him, that if you(Jay) were the only person on earth, Jesus would still come to the world to die for YOU! You mean that much to him.

I can only trust the seeds planted in Jay will grow and that the devil will not snatch away the seeds. Lord rebuke the enemy off Jay right now so he can repent and put his faith in you, Jesus. Amen.

Leave a Reply

