Knoxville Fish Feeding

November 14, 2009

Some days I do not have tremendous opportunities to physically hand a tract to loads and loads of people. Today I may have given out physically about 8 tracts.

The rest of the tracts and Billy Graham’s Decision magazine(too numerous to count.) were strategically placed in the post office, mall, a bookstore, and Market Square. The only similarity in life to leaving tracts in public places is going to a public fish pond. If you go to a public park or off a fishing dock  you see the 25 cent machine filled with fish food. You throw the food in the water and watch the fish gobble down the food.

When I was at the mall I had placed some Million Dollar Bill tracts on benches, the floor, and in the Soda machine bill slots.  I stepped back and watched the fish(people) look at the tracts, pickup the tracts and read them. Some of the people kept the bills and others read the bill then immediately put the bill down in another spot.  I can only pray for those reading the tract. A seed or two was planted and God will nurture the seed in however he sees fit.

The Lord brought this passage from the Bible to my mind.

Ecclesiastes 11:2 (New King James Version)

The Value of Diligence
“Cast your bread upon the waters, For you will find it after many days. Give a serving to seven, and also to eight, For you do not know what evil will be on the earth.”

Any step of faith made by a believer to share the gospel in something as small as leaving a tract on a table in the food court in the mall is never in vain.

Epilogue

Sometimes when you go out “street fishing” you encounter some various forms of spiritual warfare.  Today I was harassed by some teenage boys. They saw me drop a Million Dollar Bill on the ground. One of  the boys told me I dropped it.  I said that is ok, you can have it.  He did not pick it up. A few moments later a man closer to my age picked it up. When he did, the boys went to the man went up to the man and took it away from him. They were discouraging from possessing it and reading it further. As I was leaving, the two boys started  following me giving me dirty looks. They threw the tract the other man picked up in my face.   The boys had read the tract and did not like the message, hence the mean attitudes.  One of the phrases they said, “Michael Jackson sucks!”

Unbelievers will be used to attempt to cause interference with Christian believers from evangelizing. The more I thought about the harassing boys, I recalled a similar incident with Paul in the book of Acts.

Acts 16:16-18 (New Living Translation)

“One day as we were going down to the place of prayer, we met a demon-possessed slave girl. She was a fortune-teller who earned a lot of money for her masters.  She followed Paul and the rest of us, shouting, “These men are servants of the Most High God, and they have come to tell you how to be saved. This went on day after day until Paul got so exasperated that he turned and said to the demon within her, “I command you in the name of Jesus Christ to come out of her.” And instantly it left her.”

Now I did not cast a demon out of the boy throwing the tract in my face, but I walked away and continued on with any more opportunities the Lord allowed me to have in tract distribution at the mall. Eventually, I drove across the street and went to the bookstore.

The bookmarks(tracts) went into some popular classic books, Joel “Ostink” Osteen’s newest book, and several different books concerning the year 2012.

With time on my hands, it was off to Market Square. I handed out several Million Dollar bills and placed several copies of the latest Billy Graham’s  Decision magazine on the benches of Market Square. The Jail ministry at our church is no longer able to pass out literature to the inmates(they been using it for smoke rolls or start a fire.) So while we are still getting them in the church mail, they let me take them out to give away or leave in public places.

When I was about twelve, my reading tastes became into Christian books. One of the first Christian books I read was a Billy Graham book.  I have the utmost respect for Billy. God has used him greatly to bring many into  faith in Jesus.

I have said this before on Savor the Savior, I may not have a mass audience to preach faith in Jesus, yet I am humbled to be given the opportunity and be powered by the Holy Spirit to share my faith with those I come into contact in East Tennessee and on the Internet. I am just the pen filled with the ink(Holy Spirit) and guided by the hand of my Heavenly Father.

3 Responses to “Knoxville Fish Feeding”

  1. David Crichton Says:

    Good job. Keep up the good work. Remember there’s a reward for persecution.

    Also…I’m thinking about coming down to Gatlinburg this weekend to pass out some $100 bill tracts. I was there a few weeks ago and I noticed on the ground several of the optical illusion tracts….somebody else had been there. Was that you,by chance ??

    • Robert Moss Says:

      It was not me in Gatlinburg must have been another person I know on the Ambassadors Alliance that lives nearby the area doing those tracts.

    • Robert Moss Says:

      I probably wont be doing much this weekend due to the fact I am having a wisdom tooth removed on friday so I will be resting at home most of the day. Only going out when necessary.

Leave a Reply

