Friday Night Alive(October 23/09)

October 23, 2009

I prayed for no rain in the evening around Market Square. My prayer was answered as God held back the rain for me to hand out  Gospel tracts. I started on one end of the Square and gave out some tracts. Then I went to the other end of the square and gave out……you guessed it….more tracts. Then proceeding to Gay Street, I did something……wanna guess???? I handed out more tracts.

There will be opportunities to have neat adventure stories. The other times is just planting seeds(tracts) in the soil(people).  Did I encounter any demon possessed people?  I might have and the demons might have just been mellowed out for the evening and were told by God to give me a break tonight after the car trouble and sickness I have the past few weeks prior. It is nice to be able to have a smooth evening once in a while.

Many of you may be thinking I act like those idiot “sign guys”  yelling out at people  and just give out judgments without grace and salvation of Jesus.  No way indeed. That is not me, and I try to stay away from those guys if I am in the same area sharing the Gospel of Jesus Christ.

In golf, the instructors tell their students to “follow-thru” on their golf swing. If you want to make the golf ball go far, you must do a full swing to allow for maximum impact.

Many of the guys you have seen with the “God hates fags” signs and just give out judgments, do not give a full gospel “follow-thru”. They stop at the judgments on people and entice people into a “legalistic religiosity” which is not “Biblical Christianity.”

As I look how Jesus preached to the masses, He always preached in love while he spoke truth.  The only times he got miffed was at the religious leaders for misusing their positions of power to keep people under their thumbs with religious rituals.

I want to mimic my Jesus. I want to share with the world around me(Right now it is Knoxville and to an extent the Internet.) what they must do to be saved from being found guilty under the Ten Commandments and suffer eternal punishment in Hell. It is simply “Repentance(Turning away from selfish evil  lifestyles)” and “Faith(trust) in Jesus for their salvation. With God’s help, I treat others with respect and courtesy. It does not mean I water down God’s Word. Biblical love is done truthfully.

I have previously wrote about sign guys. I do not want to lump ALL guys using signs in gospel presentations as bad or non-biblical.  Sign people, whose presentations have the complete follow through of the Gospel I respect as brothers and sisters. Follow-thru is very important in Gospel presentations. Without the grace following the law during evangelistic outings,  it becomes just as bad as those watering the Word with a feel good message.

So today’s word is: Follow-thru.  It makes Gospel presentations clear and effective when done in the power of the Holy Spirit.

Evangelism Code Words

  1. Fishing(Street Witness)
  2. Worm(Gospel Tract)
  3. Fish(People)
  4. Fishing Hole(favorite place to street witness)
  5. Fish Cleaner(God/Jesus)
  6. Fisherman(Christians)
  7. Rough Waters(Spiritual battling ground to share the Gospel)
Leave a Reply

