Saturday Night Street Witnessing

October 11, 2009

After a long nap and feeling tons better.(The getting sick was definitely spiritual warfare.) I grabbed some Million Dollar Bills and headed for the University of Tennessee Strip.(Bar and restaurant area on Cumberland).

I always begin and end in prayer when I go out to fish(street witness).  It is the power of the Holy Spirit which gives me the ability to share Jesus with people.

The Strip was jammed packed with college students and Knoxville police.  Some people took bills, others refused, and many came up to me asking for them. It is refreshing to me when people come up to you asking for the Million Dollar Bill tract.

Some officers called out to me curious to what I was passing out.  I gave the gospel presentation to a group of six officers. Whoot! After the gospel presentation, they told me if I encountered any problems to get their attention.

This night was even more exciting as I was able to attain the attention of several groups of college students. Most take the bill and go on their way. Yet, God gave me more time with the groups and individuals to proceed with the Million Dollar question. (Are you going to Heaven?)

One instance where I was able to ask the question and get at least a 3 minute conversation with a young man.  He confessed he had not been to church in a while and the church he admitted to attending was one down the road from my church.  He was a little tipsy and from the looks of the group he was in attendance was not a group I suspected he  did not really fit in. As his group was dragging him away, I encouraged him to read the back of the bill, read his Bible, and get back to church as soon as possible. After he left, I said a small prayer for this young man.

It is very disappointing to see many young people make the same choices I made in the past. I used to both go to the bar on Saturday night and attend church the next morning.  The bars provide students with unrealistic pleasure which go against the Word of God. The hopes of seeing scantily dressed women show off their hooters after drinking too much was a draw for me to go to bars. Yet, I knew the Bible had clear warning from participating in events at the bars.(wet-t-shirt contests, etc). It took some tough situations for me to experience to know God has better plans for me than what I tried to gain at bars.  I eventually came to repentance and faith in the Lord during this time. Now, I want to be able to reach the college students for the Lord. Many times it means going where the college student goes on nights( bars, waffle house, football games, etc).

I know there are mothers, fathers, grandparents, pastors, and church people praying for there prodigal children.  I wonder at times, if many of these praying people are asking God for someone like myself to encounter their child in these situations?

Here is a Chick tract  which gives a story about many of the situations I encounter at the bar district.

http://www.chick.com/reading/tracts/0099/0099_01.asp

Many think I am hokie  for  street witnessing.(Actually, a Hokie is who you are if you attend Virgina Tech.) People can think whatever or discourage me from street witnessing.  I must be faithful to God and his words, “Go into ALL the world…”, Right now my world is Knoxville, Tennessee.  I must obey God rather than the idle threats of man.

2 Responses to “Saturday Night Street Witnessing”

  1. Suzy Says:

    Heyyyy… Robert…I love you man!!!

Leave a Reply

