Friday night at Market Square and Vomit

October 10, 2009

The Lord gave me a little over an hour to hand out Billy Graham “Decision” magazines and some Million Dollar Bills on Market Square. I prayed for people to not mistake me for a Jehovah Witness handing out “Watchtower” magazines.  I gave away all my stack of “Decision” magazines(about 25 copies.)  No one really stuck around to talk or return to ask me questions. I don’t make an effort to make notches on my belt for new converts.  God gives me the opportunity to do spiritual “tilling” of the market square “garden”.

I remember as a young teen during the springtime, dad would get out the rototiller and break up the rocky ground in our backyard to plant a garden.  As my dad would till the ground, my brother and I would have to grab the big rocks out of the garden. For vegetables to grow properly, you have to breakup the stony ground. The same applies to evangelism.

1 Corinthians 3:6-9 (New Living Translation)

“6 I planted the seed in your hearts, and Apollos watered it, but it was God who made it grow. 7 It’s not important who does the planting, or who does the watering. What’s important is that God makes the seed grow. 8 The one who plants and the one who waters work together with the same purpose. And both will be rewarded for their own hard work. 9 For we are both God’s workers. And you are God’s field. You are God’s building.”

As I was leaving Market Square, it started to rain. This is a great reminder to me. God let me plant some seeds and God watered the seeds. Pray for the spiritual fruit to grow and blossom.

Revelation 3:16 (Holman Christian Standard Bible)

“So, because you are lukewarm, and neither hot nor cold, I am going to vomit you out of My mouth.”

Now you may ask, “Where does the vomit play into street witnessing?”  The next morning I woke up with a headache. I still went to the morning street evangelism class at Calvary Baptist Student Center. My headache proceeded to get worse. The moment I entered my car is the moment I stuck my head out of the car and returned the pancakes and sausage onto the ground.  Gross, T.M.I., Robert.

I need to bring this up(oops. Sorry again.) to tell you  the Christian walk is not all rosy. When you give your life to Jesus in Christian service, expect to be attacked by the enemy.  I have become temporarily ill the past few times I go out and witness to people, experienced car problems,  and encountered spiritual warfare in various others means.

I know it is not the flu or something I ate to make me sick, the past other times I got this sick was when it involved street witnessing. You may say to me, “Use Germ-X.” It may sound like a good precaution, yet if Satan and his demons want to fight back, they will use any method to discourage or stop the witnessing. I am not going to stop sharing about my Jesus.  I am thankful God allows me to evangelize to people.  It humbles me he wants to use me to glorify Him.

Ephesians 6:12 (New Living Translation)

“12 For we are not fighting against flesh-and-blood enemies, but against evil rulers and authorities of the unseen world, against mighty powers in this dark world, and against evil spirits in the heavenly places.”

God calls all believers to evangelize(verb). You may not be led to be an Evangelist(noun) like Billy Graham. Yet Jesus give ALL believers this command:

Mark 16:15 (New Living Translation)

“And then he told them, “Go into all the world and preach the Good News to everyone.”

God may protect you from puking your guts up after sharing your faith, then again he may allow it. I just ask you if you are willing to share your faith are you willing to potentially endure more than just being temporarily ill. You may be thrown in jail as a result of false accusations(I’ve had this happened to me.), Spit upon, verbally abused, and especially if you are in a hostile country to Christianity: murdered.  It is a privilege to bring the Good news of Repentance and faith Jesus. Are you ready?


Leave a Reply

