Keeping Spiritually and Physically Hydrated

June 27, 2009

Isaiah 58: 1,7 (New Living Translation)

1 “Shout with the voice of a trumpet blast.
      Shout aloud! Don’t be timid.
   Tell my people Israel of their sins!”

7″Share your food with the hungry,
      and give shelter to the homeless.
   Give clothes to those who need them,
      and do not hide from relatives who need your help.”

(This outreach note is also made available to CCJ Facebook people, North Knoxville Calvary Kinship B.B., my blog and those on my email list.) Today was a very warm day for the Downtown Outreach. A collapsible cooler was donated to hold bottles of water and easier to move and haul. Thank you to the persons for it and the two packages of bottle water. It holds about 30 bottles of the Nestle water and a small bag of ice. The new cooler comes with a container to fill with water and freeze to keep drinks cooler longer. I was able to pass out about 24 bottles of water. I had 3 packs of water with a total of 84 bottles of water.

I was not able to give out all due to all the ice melted in the cooler and funds to buy ice were not available and I met up with a church out of Maryville that was handing out bottles of water as well. Since a Maryville church had already arrived before me, I respectfully moved to another area to hand out water bottles to for maximum impact and outreach to those not near where the Maryville church was handing them out. I also was able to handout bible tracts to people for them to read.

I ran across Teresea(the lady I met from the previous Saturday, she is a believer.) she made notice of my new bag that held my tracts.(one of the Wal-Mart  green bags.) I was using plastic bags but were splitting from the weight of the tracts. I met a couple and they said they thank the Lord for sending me to bless them. He has alcohol issues and I told him the Lord loves him and suggested to him to not drink himself drunk and dehydrate in the heat. Alcohol is a large addiction to the homeless population and many will drink out in the open but have the bottle covered in a bag to hide  what they are drinking from law enforcement.

I will most likely go this Friday instead of Saturday due to the Holiday. This is to provide opportunity to anyone among the CC Knoxville body or those wanting to replicate a similar ministry in their church. Please contact me via email: robertmoss77@hotmail.com or call the Calvary Chapel Knoxville office to get my cell number.

Prayer Needs: Protection of those participating to not get hurt or overheat.

Protection of the water and bible tracts.

God to go before us to minister as he leads us to those downtown.

Authentic Conversion to Christ and turning away from sin(genuine repentance) to those we minister.

 Provision of bottles of water and ice.

One Response to “Keeping Spiritually and Physically Hydrated”


  1. […] The rest is here: Keeping Spiritually and Physically Hydrated […]

Leave a Reply

