Holy Heartburn

June 12, 2009

 

Jeremiah 20:8-10 (New Living Translation)

 8 When I speak, the words burst out.
      “Violence and destruction!” I shout.
   So these messages from the Lord
      have made me a household joke.
 9 But if I say I’ll never mention the Lord
      or speak in his name,
   his word burns in my heart like a fire.
      It’s like a fire in my bones!
   I am worn out trying to hold it in!
      I can’t do it!
 10 I have heard the many rumors about me.
      They call me “The Man Who Lives in Terror.”
   They threaten, “If you say anything, we will report it.”
      Even my old friends are watching me,
      waiting for a fatal slip.
   “He will trap himself,” they say,
      “and then we will get our revenge on him.”

Man do I ever relate to this verse. I have always felt the presence of the Lord since I was saved when I was about 12. As the years went by, even when I backslide, God has been like a Shepard and brought me back into his arms.  I have a passion for God’s Word and how it speaks to my life and want to share His Word with others. I love all my family, friends and acquaintances. Yet, my relationship with my Savior is first and as a result overflows to others.  Like Jeremiah, the Holy Spirit and God’s Word is so extremely burning in my life.  No amount of Tums can quench this Holy Heartburn.

Will there be times when I sound like I am chewing peoples’ butt off?  Yet, there will be times when I will passionately be uplifting. I only ask God to guide me and lead me. I ask God when it comes to spiritual matters that it will only be Him and Him only speaking in me and through me. I do not want self getting in the way of God declaring his love for people in the world. I want to see as many of my friends and family in Heaven. Sometimes it will be I am sounding like spiritual discipline people. Remember, it is only what God wants his people to hear, I am just a messenger. I will do my very best when writing to cite Scripture when a spiritual statement is written.  

God loves you very much and so do I.

Leave a Reply

