Keep moving forward

August 22, 2008

Philippians 3:12-14 (New Living Translation)

New Living Translation(NLT)Holy Bible. New Living Translation copyright © 1996, 2004 by Tyndale Charitable Trust. Used by permission of Tyndale House Publishers.

 

Pressing toward the Goal

 12 I don’t mean to say that I have already achieved these things or that I have already reached perfection. But I press on to possess that perfection for which Christ Jesus first possessed me. 13 No, dear brothers and sisters, I have not achieved it,[a] but I focus on this one thing: Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead, 14 I press on to reach the end of the race and receive the heavenly prize for which God, through Christ Jesus, is calling us.

I will definitely admit I am far from being Mr. Super Christian.  Once you make it known you are a Christian, many times the world will hold you to a high standard. When you fall, then the world will say, “I thought you were a Christian.”  Many times its a good check for believers to recognize the responsibility we have for being proclaimers of God’s Word.  Yet, I do struggle in life with sin just as much as a nonbeliever. The difference is I am forgiven by the blood of Jesus.
When I fall in sin, it doesn’t take much for me to become convicted by the Holy Spirit. Afterwards, I find myself moving from falling on my tush in sin to falling on my face crying out to Jesus in confession and repentance.
Now as the above mentioned scripture passage states, I can either wallow for the rest of my life in a depressed state of my past sinful condition OR I can seek forgiveness and turn away from the sin.
The children’s movie, Meet the Robinsons, has a positive message throught the film. The phrase is, “Keep moving forward.” I am ineffective both to God and myself if I constantly dwell on the pains of my past. Yet, Paul has a God-focus attitude.  Paul has the godly desire to press forward, even though events of his past try to hold him back from accomplishing what God has desired for his life. 
Thank you for God’s grace to me even when as a believer I fall.  I am glad for the spritual encouragement of the book of Philippians. As long as I have a pulse, God still has a reason for me to move on in the life he has entrusted. 
My relationship with Jesus is the greatest reward  and incentive for completing the race of life.  Watching the Olympic runners in all catagories shows how they are dedicated to finishing a race. They may not be the first one at the end of the track, yet after all the effort they dedicated to having a opportunity to run in the Olympics, they have purposed to press forward to finish the race they started.
Jesus, help me to press forward by the power of the Holy Spirit to finish the life race you have given me the opportunity to complete.  Even when I fall down, help me to get back up and keep moving forward. Thank you for being my reward for starting and finishing the race.
Show me wisdom on how to better serve you and others as I run the race of life.
Leave a Reply

