Brokeness

August 3, 2008

Brokeness. It’s not always a pleasant experience. When we sin, it hurts not only us, but God and others.  During the broken areas of our lives, God is able to work on us and repair us. If we are to be fruitful Christians, sometimes God allows us to be broken. When it comes to my brokeness, it has been result of sin.  God still loves me, even though I have made major errors in life.  Right now, I am having to face consequences of my actions.  Can God still use me? I am a broken and have burned bridges which are now piles of ashes.  I’ve made a mess of relationships and areas. I have tearfully repented to God for my actions. Yet, where do I go from here? The Lord continues to bring this passage to me during the past two months.

Isaiah 61:3 (New King James Version)

3 To console those who mourn in Zion,
To give them beauty for ashes,
The oil of joy for mourning,
The garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness;
That they may be called trees of righteousness,
The planting of the LORD, that He may be glorified.”

God desires for me to be healed during this valley time. Oh, Jesus please heal me now!
In exchange for my ashes, mourning, and heaviness;  he gives me beauty, joy and praise. Then I can be called once again righteousness so that God may be glorifed. Oh, how I thank you, Jesus for taking my sin upon yourself and covering me in your blood by your grace and mercy.
It’s nifty too, Pastor Mark is teaching us through the book of Mark on the sower and the seed. God likes using gardening terminology. I am a plant in need of constant care and a watchful eye of the master gardener. Sometimes he has to roto-till the soil in my life to break up any hard areas and remove the rocks and weeds stunting my growth in the Christian walk. He sometimes has to prune me. Any weightiness in on me can kill me or not produce healthy spiritual fruit. God desires me to be fruitful not fruity!
While I am still currently in a valley time(Mainly by my poor decisions.) God desires to still use me. He loves using broken people. I look in the Bible and see how people serving him still had character flaws.  Broken people have to be used so when others look, they notice a force beyond the broken person is working in their lives. We, as broken people in the Lord, can share with others of the grace and mercy of the Lord. As long as we are living, it shows God is patient and has not given up on me or you. If we are still breathing after we sin, we need to make the most of the opportunity we have left and come to God for forgiveness.
To answer my question: Can God still use me?  Yes. How He decides to use me for His glory and will, is for Him to decide. I must allow the Holy Spirit to guide me day to day, convict me of sin, and by His power the strength to overflow in me and through me.
Leave a Reply

